

USHBC MEMO

To: Blueberry Industry Members From: U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council

Date: February 10, 2025

Re: Nomination of USHBC State Representatives - Florida

The U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council (USHBC) is now seeking nominees to fill state member and alternate positions on the USHBC for the 2026 to 2028 term. State representatives will be selected from the top eight production states based on the average of production from 2022 to 2024. Based on this average, the top eight production states are Oregon, Washington, Michigan, California, Georgia, New Jersey, North Carolina and Florida. Eligible producer nominees are those who produced 2,000 pounds or more of highbush (cultivated) blueberries in the United States during the period of January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2024.

State blueberry commissions and councils in Oregon, Washington, Michigan, Georgia, California, New Jersey and North Carolina will handle the nomination and balloting process for the members and alternate positions for each of their states.

The USHBC is seeking nominees from the **state of Florida**. The nomination period begins March 21, 2025, and is open for a two-week period. Potential nominees are required to complete a USHBC nomination application and background form, and then forward their application to the U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council office by April 18, 2025, at elections@blueberry.org. Applications are available on the USHBC website at https://ushbc.blueberry.org/forms/ and online form here.

Once the nomination period is closed, a ballot will be prepared for Florida, listing all its state nominees. The USHBC will email ballots to Florida blueberry growers on April 28, 2025. The voting period will be open for 14 days and close on May 9, 2025. Those receiving the most votes for each state representative seat will be recommended to the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture as council members. Those who earn the second most votes for each state will be recommended as the alternate. The names of those who receive the third and fourth most votes will be sent on to the Secretary for consideration as well.

Council members and alternates will serve for a term of three years, starting January 1, 2026, and will be allowed to serve a maximum of two consecutive terms. A member can serve as an alternate for the term in which they are not eligible to serve as a member; and an alternate can serve as a member for the term they are not eligible to serve as an alternate.

USHBC State Representatives completing their terms of office this year are Brittany Lee (Florida Member), Michael Hill (Florida Alternate), Doug LaCroix (California Member), Dennis Vander Kooi (Michigan Member), George Fritz Jr. (Michigan Alternate), Paul Macrie (New Jersey Member), Chelsea Consalo (New Jersey Alternate), Kristen Johnson (North Carolina Member), Tammy Brannen (Georgia Member), Brandon Wade (Georgia Alternate), Doug Krahmer (Oregon Member), Ellie Norris (Oregon Alternate), Bryan Sakuma (Washington Member), and Leif Olsen (Washington Alternate).